The Poison Pen

Chocolate Chip & Pecan Spelt Cookies

Posted in The Cooking Monster by thepoisonpen on May 5, 2010

27/365 The Cookie Monster
Originally uploaded by Lady Havisham

After spending what felt like hours, days, WEEKS looking for a good spelt cookie recipe that wasn’t american and measured everything in cups and used ingredients like ‘apple sauce’ and maple syrup. I finally decided to do what I should have done in the beginning. Just substitute the whole meal flour for spelt. Genius, you will clearly agree.

The basic cookie recipe can be found at the BBC created by non other than chicken saving toff Hugh Fernley Whittingstall.

My amendments to make the pecan and chocolate chip cookies were:

  •  Wholewheat to Doves Farm Wholegrain Spelt Flour
  •  125g Pure Dairy Free Spread.
  •  100g of Molasses sugar instead of brown sugar (it makes them richer so you won’t find yourself scoffing them all in one go)
  • 75g of white sugar reduced from 100g
  • 100g of dark chocolate dairy free chips (makes no difference really, but I didn’t want huge chunks.
  • 40g chopped pecan nuts

Voila! Not quite gluten-free but very delicious and completely milk free for anyone with a lactose intolerance.

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Becky said, on May 6, 2010 at 11:06 am

    Brian Eno would surely approve! xx

  2. thepoisonpen said, on May 6, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    Roxy Music was such a ruse the dirty hippy!

  3. Alex said, on May 6, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    Might have to give these babies a go! Omitting the pecans of course, I don’t do nuts 😦

  4. Becky said, on May 21, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    I made them! They look really nice, just waiting for them to cool. I did exactly what you said, but I used buckwheat flour. I’ll let you know how they taste! xoxoxo

  5. thecuriousbaker said, on May 25, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    lol! That comment about apple sauce and maple syrup is funny, I’m not american but I’m guilty of using buttermilk far too much! These cookies look DE-LISH. I love the texture and a little tweaking could make these gluten free without too much hassle. Thanks for sharing.

    • thepoisonpen said, on May 26, 2010 at 5:43 am

      I’ve been trying a gluten free variety as sadly my stomach has revolted against the spelt! So far I’ve found:

      Doves Farm white flour comes out a bit too dry in texture, and overall not that nice.
      Gram Flour – comes out extra gooey and delicious although it makes the mixture smell a bit too savoury. I tried them with ginger and cinnamon and they’re the best gluten free ones so far!

  6. thecuriousbaker said, on May 26, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    hmmm,…ginger and cinnamon, I have to say, I don’t think I’ve ever tried them together before, but ginger in ANYTHING is good, had also forgotten about chickpea flour, I only tend to use it for bread but I really should experiment more….

  7. […] Pen blog is a lovely online find, filled with lewd vintage photographs, antique stall treasures and this amazing cookie recipe for wheat and lactose free hippies like us. I think Brian Eno would […]


Leave a Reply

