The Poison Pen

Wholegrain Spelt Bread

Posted in The Cooking Monster by thepoisonpen on May 27, 2010


48/365 Wholegrain Spelt Bread

Originally uploaded by Lady Havisham

Behold! My first attempt at making bread from scratch. And it is oh so much easier than you would think! After discovering I can’t eat spelt anymore, I didn’t want the flour to go to waste, so apart from fattening my boyfriend up on the spelt cookies, it was getting bland making the same thing over and over. So I invested in some Doves farm quick yeast and set away with the recipe on the side of the flour packet for olive bread. Only minus the olives ha.

I didn’t knead it for hours on end but overall it was easier and quicker than I would have ever assumed after nearly buying a bread machine last month. The cost of gluten-free bread is obscene so I’m trying to look for the most economical ways to fund my fanny of a diet.

Tagged with: , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. thecuriousbaker said, on June 8, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    Amazing! Your first attempt you say? Nice….You know once I figured out how easy it was to bake gluten free bread, I just stopped buying, and since the genius standard has declined in my books, there’s really nothing to tempt me back into consumerland…

    p.s. I’m also a gluten freer that can tolerate spelt but I don’t use it enough. Well done!

    • thepoisonpen said, on June 8, 2010 at 2:30 pm

      Yeah I’ve noticed that too with genuis. The past three loaves I’ve had have just crumbled and halved the slices – just like all the other breads on the market.

      I’m going to try the same recipe with brown rice flour and see what happens!


Leave a Reply

