The Poison Pen

2011 begins with a new diary

Posted in Journalling by thepoisonpen on February 11, 2011

Just before Christmas Daycraft, a Hong Kong based journal and diary company emailed me to ask if they could send me some samples based on my mini articlette ‘Journalling: what the hipsters don’t tell you’. I was very flattered and kindly accepted. A couple of weeks later (the week before xmas) a box arrived with no less than four of their books, 3 2011 diaries and one notebook. And how sweet they are! No one really needs telling about the wonderful feeling of opening and starting a new journal, with it’s crisp pages yet to be adorned! But I’m glad I was sent something I do genuinely really like.

First off was the dainty soft pink faux leather slimline pocket 2011 diary. A perfect handbag sized diary with an impressive inside section detailing health and nutrition, birthdays and even a vintage wine guide. Whilst I don’t tend to use slimline diaries, my mother relies on them so it seemed fitting to pass onto her to use which she has been more than satisfied with.

Next came my favourite, the cushioned cobalt blue ‘Vogue’ diary. The soft padded front is nice and bendy to let you write easily without the bulk of a hardback but is slightly wider than the slimline diaries but still a perfect handbag size.

They also sent me a super cute Cookie note book with a plush soft padded biscuit front which holds orange lined pages, perfect for keeping notes.

The third diary is probably the most colourful out of the two, a lovely material bound cover with a yellow paint splash effect. As well as plenty of space to keep dates and a brillaitn perforated pull out note section at the back.

The downside to this, is that Daycraft don’t appear to have any European stockists! Such a shame as I can imagine they would go down brilliant in a store like Waterstones amongst the Moleskines, Cath Kidston and Rosehip books.

So, to pass on the kindness I am offering up for grabs the Make My Day hard backed 2011 journal! I know February is a late start into the year, but surely better late to start keeping track of dates than never? I hope so anyway. If you want to win one, first come first served! x

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Michelle said, on February 11, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    These are lovely!

  2. Sophie33 said, on February 11, 2011 at 5:12 pm

    These aganda’s are looking fabulous & so coloured too!

    How can You choose?

  3. anna and the ring said, on February 15, 2011 at 4:59 pm

    Cuteness!

  4. emma said, on February 18, 2011 at 4:58 am

    loving these 🙂 So good to see something practical as well as well designed. I’m in HK so won’t try to grab as can buy.


Leave a Reply

