The Poison Pen

Tynemouth – Again

Posted in Local, Uncategorized by thepoisonpen on February 14, 2011

I like Tynemouth, it’s a little quirky, it has a few sweet boutiques and oddments. Notably it’s prolific market held in the old train station each weekend. It’s probably been a year since I’ve been, mainly because unless you live near a metro line it’s a faff to get too. But since my boyfriend got the Birdmobile, this weekend seemed like a fine time to go and also to nose out any boutiques to stock my jewellery.

The market however has gone decidedly downhill depending on your perspective. If you like dirty rummaging fuelled by the constant thrill of the chance of getting hepatitis off a shard of a rusty chandelier or stamp collecting, then tynemouth was the place for you. This time however, and a year later it’s notably 60-40 filled with hand crafted stalls, cupcakes, imported cheap jewellery and other standard market stall tat. There’s still some goodies, but not like there used to be. Not that it stopped me picking up a cute old brooch and my boyfriend going all valentines on me by buying me this picture. I did however miss the tramp like thrill of the rummage. Saturday however is better so choose your day wisely.

I still want to live in either of these houses.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Becky Hunter said, on February 15, 2011 at 9:15 am

    Love these pictures Lucy!

  2. Katie said, on February 15, 2011 at 4:06 pm

    I like the little fat house in the middle, I always have a gawk at the pink one though 🙂

    Know what you mean about the market, there’s so much more tat turning up every week 😦

    Katie xox

  3. Sophie33 said, on February 15, 2011 at 10:41 pm

    I have never been to Tynemouth before, but I like these houses & your pictures a lot!

    Thanks for sharing!!!

    Kisses from Brussels to you! ps/ Did you recieve my émail?

  4. Sophie33 said, on March 11, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    Thanks again for the lovely cookie like notebook, I recieved 2 weeks ago!

    Thanks for sending it to me & for your nice card too!


Leave a Reply

