The Poison Pen

Fun with a Halina Paulette

Posted in Photography by thepoisonpen on May 29, 2011

You tend to find a lot of these kind of cameras kicking about in charity shop or on ebay, usually with variable results. I quite liked the feel of this one, but having not used manual cameras for a while it takes a bit of getting used to remembering to focus/aperture/shutter instead of pointing and shooting. I started off 12 years ago shooting film on a beat up Olympus OM10 my dad gave me, and later on had the opposite problem; manual focusing with digital lenses which have no distance guide!

Film now is even more of an expensive hobby, and if you’ve found yourself a cute looking old Soviet model that didn’t come with LOMO seal of approval you might be better off asking for the negatives to be developed first to see if there’s any treasures on the film worth printing. Maybe I’m a cheapskate but even £5 in Boots seems expensive for a less than satisfactory film roll.

I didn’t use filters. Your own sunglasses can be natures cheapest visual effects tool.

That last photo was a bit of a tiny revelation. When I was at my illest my mum used to take me for drives and we would sit in the moors on ‘Bob’s Seat’. So it was quite touching to go back and to see they’d updated the seat plaque which appears his partner has now joined him.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Michelle said, on May 29, 2011 at 3:20 pm

    These are lovely – especially the first.

  2. Zoe said, on June 10, 2011 at 12:47 am

    I love the effects you’ve achieved, and what a clever trick – sunglasses!

    • thepoisonpen said, on June 10, 2011 at 1:58 pm

      It also works really well with digital cameras, or if like me you have a crap blackberry camera phone! x

  3. arnique said, on June 11, 2011 at 10:46 am

    I absolutely agree re: sunglasses as a filter. It is something I love to do, and I’m thinking about popping out lenses from old pairs and just carrying them along with me in a bag.

    Arianne from A + B in the Sea

  4. mat said, on October 31, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    i’m inspired to get back on the film action


Leave a Reply

